2010-11 Academic Awards For Athletes

The women’s golf team repeated as winners and the men’s tennis team won for the first time in four years, as both teams were honored Sunday at the President’s Cup Brunch held at the Riggs Alumni Center ┬áThe women’s golf team earned a combined GPA of 3.29, earning the honor for the second consecutive year. It edged women’s tennis (3.26) and gymnastics (3.15) for the award.

M Club Awards

Talbot T. Speer Award (leadership, scholarship and all-around ability) – Greg Kelsey, men’s track & cross country; and Torrey Smith, football.

Charles P. McCormick Award (Baltimore area senior contributing the most to athletics) – Brian Farrell, men’s lacrosse

John W. Guckeyson Award (scholarship, leadership and superior athletic ability) – Grant Catalino, men’s lacrosse

Founders Award (outstanding athletic ability, academic character, citizenship) – Kiani Profit, women’s track and field

James H. Kehoe Award (Maryland senior symbolizing commitment, dedication, spirit and the will to win) – Amanda Himmelheber, field hockey

Silvester Watch (athlete who typifies the best in college athletics) – Grant Catalino, men’s lacrosse

Maryland Watch (male athlete of the year from the State of Maryland) – Adrian Bowie, men’s basketball

Suzanne Tyler Award (female athlete of the year) – Katie O’Donnell, field hockey

Geary F. Eppley Award (senior letterwinner with highest scholastic average) – Mitch Challacombe, men’s swimming

Charles H. Beebe Jr. Award (letterwinner with highest career GPA) – Caitlin McDowell, women’s soccer

There Are No Responses to this Post

No comments have been posted yet, be the first!

Post a comment by filling out the form below.

Write a Comment!


YoungTerps Tweets

Terp Talk Tweets

Bruce Posner Tweets


Viener Consulting

Saiontz and Kirk

Dr Jeffrey Gaber and Associates
Never Miss a Terp Beat!

Enter your email address: