#1 Logan Wisnauskas Named 2022 Tewaaraton Award Winner

from umterps.com

Maryland attackman Logan Wisnauskas was named the 2022 Tewaaraton Award winner, the organization announced Thursday night.

Wisnauskas earns the most prestigious award in college lacrosse after a 61 goal, 42 assist, 103 point season that ended with an NCAA Championship. The leader of a historic Maryland offense, Wisnauskas averaged over 5.7 points per game throughout a season that featured 14 hat tricks. He has a Maryland-record 40 in his career. 

Wisnauskas rocketed up the record books this season. He became the record-holder for points in a season (103), goals in a career (205), and points in a career (340). He finishes his career fourth all-time in career goals and 11th all-time in career points among all NCAA Division 1 men’s lacrosse players. 

The Sykesville, Maryland, native becomes the second-straight, and third overall, Tewaaraton winner for Maryland. He follows Jared Bernhardt (2021) and Matt Rambo (2017). Maryland becomes the second school to ever have two consecutive Tewaaraton winners, following 2014-15 Albany (Lyle Thompson/Miles Thompson.)

The top-pick in the 2022 PLL Draft, Wisnauskas was a First Team All-American by every major outlet. He was named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and Lt. Raymond J. Enners Outstanding Player of the Year by the USILA. 

He is now an eight-time Big Ten offensive player after earning three more this season. He has 12 overall Big Ten Weekly honors. More importantly, he earned his third Big Ten regular season title and second Big Ten Tournament title. 

Wisnauskas earns the honor over Chris Gray (North Carolina), Brendan Nichtern (Army), Connor Shellenberger (Virginia), and Sam Handley (Pennsylvania). 

Maryland has had a Tewaaraton Finalist for six straight seasons. Wisnauskas is just the fifth Maryland player in history to be selected as a finalist, joining Jared Bernhardt (2019, 2021), Connor Kelly (2018), Matt Rambo (2017) and Joe Walters (2006). 

There Are No Responses to this Post

No comments have been posted yet, be the first!

Post a comment by filling out the form below.

Write a Comment!


YoungTerps Tweets

Terp Talk Tweets

Bruce Posner Tweets


Viener Consulting

Saiontz and Kirk

Dr Jeffrey Gaber and Associates
Never Miss a Terp Beat!

Enter your email address: