2010 Maryland Hall of Fame Class Announced

Six outstanding athletes will join 181 previously honored inductees as members of the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame this fall, athletics department officials announced on Monday.  The Class of 2010 is comprised of soccer star Leo Cullen, field hockey phenom Christine DeBow Mitchell, two-sport sensation Laura Harmon of lacrosse and field hockey, triple jump specialist Marchelle Payne-Gassaway, football all-time leading tackler Eric Wilson, and lacrosse great Peter Worstell. The inductees will be presented at the Campus Marriott Inn & Conference Center on Friday, Oct. 1, 2010.

Tickets for the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will go on sale to the public in mid-August and can be ordered by contacting the M Club Foundation by phone at 301-314-2619 or by email at mclub@umd.edu. Tickets are $75 per person or $700 for a table of 10 and patrons are asked to RSVP by Sept. 20.  Founded in 1982 as a collaborative effort between the athletics department and the M Club, the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame pays tribute to those superior Terrapin athletes, coaches and administrators who have made major contributions to the honor and fame of the University of Maryland, and have continued to demonstrate the positive values learned through competing in intercollegiate sports. Induction into the Hall of Fame represents the highest athletic honor the university can bestow. from umterps.com

There Are No Responses to this Post

No comments have been posted yet, be the first!

Post a comment by filling out the form below.

Write a Comment!


YoungTerps Tweets

Terp Talk Tweets

Bruce Posner Tweets


Viener Consulting

Saiontz and Kirk

Dr Jeffrey Gaber and Associates
Never Miss a Terp Beat!

Enter your email address: