Missy Meharg named National Field Hockey Coach of the Year

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association has announced that Missy Meharg, head coach of the National Champion Maryland field hockey program, is its Division I Coach of the Year for an unprecedented eighth time. Meharg, a graduate of the University of Delaware and the Tatnall School, led the Terrapins to their seventh National Championship in 2010, going 23-1 on the year. Maryland also claimed its ninth and third straight ACC Tournament title as part of a season-ending 15-game winning streak. Coming into the 2010 season, the Terps lost seven of 11 starters from a 23-1 NCAA runner-up team in 2009.

“This honor is a tribute to an amazing staff,” Meharg said. “With Tjerk being here for four ACC titles and four NCAA championships, having Dina Rizzo back as an alum and an Olympian, as well as having Barb Weinberg who is an Olympian as well, it is a really high-level staff that I know the players so heavily benefitted from. This is a team award and it’s a real honor.”

There Are No Responses to this Post

No comments have been posted yet, be the first!

Post a comment by filling out the form below.

Write a Comment!


YoungTerps Tweets

Terp Talk Tweets

Bruce Posner Tweets


Viener Consulting

Saiontz and Kirk

Dr Jeffrey Gaber and Associates
Never Miss a Terp Beat!

Enter your email address: