Top Ten Terrapin Plays of The Decade (2010-2019)

#1 “Low to low must never go”—Goalie Dan Morris stops a raging Ohio State comeback with a last minute save to preserve the 2017 NCAA Lacrosse Championship for the Terps 9-6 to end the 42 year drought.

#2 Caitlyn McFadden (Phipps) scored a free position goal to give to Terps a 9-8 lead over arch rival Northwestern after the Wildcats scored the 1st 6 goals of the game. The Terps never looked back –won 12-9 –and captured the 1st of 5 National Titles of the decade for head Coach Cathy Reese. Perhaps the GOAT of Women’s Lacrosse–Taylor Cummings captured 3 Tewaaraton Awards during her tenure at Maryland.

#3 Melo Trimble hits a 3 at the buzzer to defeat Michigan State 63-60 in 2017. One of many buzzer beaters for the great Maryland guard.

#4 In perhaps the greatest final 2 minutes by an individual Terp, Greivis Vasquez scored 8 of his 26 points to engineer a 16 point comeback against the Spartans only to have Terrapin nation’s heart broken when Korie Luscious nailed a 3 at the buzzer to defeat the Terps 85-82. Gary Williams still has nightmares about this game. The date was March 22, 2010.

#4 iIn May of 2017 Matt Rambo scored 3 goals and 4 assists in a 12-5 win over Hopkins to pass Bob Boniello as Marylands all time points leader.

#5 It was Nov 16, 2013 when QB CJ Brown rushed for 122 yards and scored the winning TD in Overtime to make the Terps Bowl eligible and defeat Virginia Tech on the road 27-24.

#6 It was Nov 27, 2010 at College Park as Torrey Smith caught 4 TD passes from Danny O’Brien to defeat NC State 38-31 as the Terps finished 8-4 in Ralph’s final season as Head Coach.

#7 The Terps shocked Texas again in 2018 defeating them 34-29 on the back of Jeshaun Jones who caught a TD pass, threw one and ran one in his 1st game as a Terp. The team played its hearts out as a tribute to the late Jordan McNair. Probably the last regular season game ever against the Longhorns.

$8 Amar Sejdic scored on a penalty kick to give the Terps a 1-0 advantage over Akron and go on to capture the 2018 NCAA Soccer Championship for Sasho and the Terps.

#9 Kaila Charles scored the tying and winning basket in the final 10 seconds as Maryland overcame a 7 poing deficit with 50 seconds left to defeat Minnesota 61-59 in 2019.

#10 In 2011 Jill Witmer capped a tremendous comeback by scoring in OT and the Terps gained the NCAA Field Hockey National Title 3-2 over the Tar Heels.

There Are No Responses to this Post

No comments have been posted yet, be the first!

Post a comment by filling out the form below.

Write a Comment!


YoungTerps Tweets

Terp Talk Tweets

Bruce Posner Tweets


Viener Consulting

Saiontz and Kirk

Dr Jeffrey Gaber and Associates
Never Miss a Terp Beat!

Enter your email address: